The Northern Neck of Virginia

A coastal peninsula with over 1,500 miles of shoreline in the Chesapeake Bay, bound on the north by the Potomac River and the south by the Rappahannock River, Virginia’s Northern Neck encompasses five counties: King George, Lancaster, Northumberland, Westmoreland and Richmond.

Virginia's Northern Neck is one of the most historic regions in Virginia. Eight Virginia Indian tribes lived in villages along the Northern Neck shores. In 1608, Captain John Smith traveled the region, coming up the Chesapeake Bay, and referred to it "as a place heaven and earth never agreed better to frame man's habitation." The area is the birthplace of Presidents George Washington and James Monroe and was home to the Lee family of Virginia. Our American heritage credits Richard Henry Lee, who co-wrote the Westmoreland Resolves, proposing American independence in 1766 in protest against the Stamp Act. Richard Henry Lee and his brother Francis Lightfoot Lee were the only two brothers to sign the Declaration of Independence. And the last Lee to survive to maturity, Robert E. Lee, was born at Stratford Hall in Westmoreland County in 1807.

The region is rich in scenic beauty, with beaches, marinas, old steamship wharfs and small towns that date back to colonial times. Vegetable and grain farming and a strong seafood industry once ruled the land.

With more than 6,500 acres of natural areas and preserves, the Northern Neck is one of the few places on the Atlantic seaboard with numerous habitats including salt and freshwater marshes, agricultural croplands, woodlands and undeveloped open fields.

Lying within the watershed of the Chesapeake Bay, the Northern Neck’s vast forestlands and rolling farm fields, lush marshes, as well as rivers and creeks create a serene, remote quality which has nearly disappeared from the crowded East Coast. For more information about the Northern Neck of Virginia, visit the Northern Neck Tourism Commission's website at

Northern Neck Map

Northern Neck Map